Cell phone restrictions for teens in Arkansas

LITTLE ROCK, AR -- Two bills restricting the use of cell phones by young drivers while driving will soon be signed into law.


House Bill 1119, by Rep. Allen Kerr of Little Rock, prohibits drivers under 18 from using a cell phone and requires drivers who are 18 to 20 to use only hands-free cell phone devices.


A first offense would attract a warning, while a second and subsequent violations would bring a fine of up to $50.


House Bill 1013, by Rep. Ray Kidd of Jonesboro, prohibits all text messages while driving.

It will be called “Paul’s Law,” in memory of a Jonesboro man killed last year in a head-on collision caused by another driver who was trying to send a text message.


A first offense would bring a warning. A second offense would bring a fine of up to $100.

¡Hola! Arkansas Staff Writers

About the Author

Print Edition

Facebook

Weather

Arkansas
October 20, 2017, 11:12 am
Cloudy
Cloudy
21°C
real feel: 20°C
current pressure: 1020 mb
humidity: 59%
wind speed: 1 m/s SSE
wind gusts: 2 m/s
UV-Index: 3
sunrise: 7:14 am
sunset: 6:25 pm
 

Galleries

PHP Code Snippets Powered By : XYZScripts.com