Cristiano Ronaldo wins Ballon d’Or 2014

Cristiano Ronaldo is officially the world's best player beat Lionel Messi to the Ballon d'Or for the second successive year at a FIFA ceremony. The 29-year-old was voted best player in the world ahead of the Argentine and Barcelona forward, of the German international goalkeeper from Bayern Munich, Manuel Neuer, at FIFA ceremony held in Zurich, Switzerland.

Ronaldo received the most votes from a panel made up of captains and coaches of national teams and a selection of the world's media. "I would like to thank all of those who voted for me," Ronaldo said after receiving the award. The Real Madrid and Portugal forward was awarded FIFA's top individual honor over Barcelona forward. It took home the award for the third time in his career.

James Rodriguez's sensational volley scored at the 2014 World Cup won the FIFA Puskas Award for the best goal of 2014. The 23-year-old netted his goal during Colombia's 2-0 win against South American rival Uruguay in the last 16.

It was one of six goals Rodriguez scored during the tournament a total that earned him the coveted Golden Boot award, given to the player who scores most goals at a World Cup Finals. The award for the Women's World Player of the Year went to German midfielder Nadine Kessler who beat Brazil striker Marta and Abby Wambach, the U.S. team's all-time leading goalscorer the title.

About the Author

Print Edition



January 19, 2018, 1:33 pm
real feel: 2°C
current pressure: 1030 mb
humidity: 49%
wind speed: 3 m/s S
wind gusts: 3 m/s
UV-Index: 1
sunrise: 7:08 am
sunset: 5:24 pm


PHP Code Snippets Powered By :