21 new schools and districts receive grants

The Arkansas Department of Education announced that 21 new schools/districts were selected to receive 21st Century Community Learning Center grants to establish before- and after-school programs for youth, families and communities.

“These grants provide much-needed educational support services to students and their families around the state,” ADE Commissioner Tony Wood said. “We are pleased to award funding for new and existing programs for the 2014-15 school year.”

There are currently 91 CCLC programs, including the 21 new additions. The grant, totaling $11,456,864 for 2014-15, will fund tutoring, homework assistance, and academic enrichment Science, Technology, Engineering and Math activities at all CCLC programs around the state. Program activities also may include remedial education activities, arts and music education activities, entrepreneurial education programs, expanded library hours, and drug and violence prevention programs.

Arkansas became part of the U.S. Department of Education grant program in 2000, with CCLC programs serving more than 16,000 Arkansas youth last year. Nationally, more than $1.4 billion have been awarded over the years. The grants are awarded on a competitive basis to applicants who meet Arkansas and U.S. Department of Education guidelines. To apply, a school must have a 40 percent or higher free/reduced lunch designation and operate programs a minimum of 12 hours each week, 25 weeks a year.

The following new schools/districts were selected to receive funds starting in 2014-15: Academies of West Memphis of the West Memphis School District, Bald Knob Fine Arts Council of the Bald Knob School District, Booneville Elementary of the Booneville School District, Clinton Intermediate School of the Clinton School District, Cloverdale Elementary, Hall High, Our House Inc. and Pfeifer Kiwanis Camp of the Little Rock School District, Dardanelle Middle & High Schools of the Dardanelle School District, Dermott School District, Drew Central Middle School of the Drew Central School District, Eliza Miller Elementary of the Helena-West Helena School District, Hermitage Elementary of the Hermitage School District, J.O. Kelly Middle School of the Springdale School District, Jessieville Elementary of the Jessieville School District, Marvell-Elaine High School of the Marvell School District, Monticello Elementary of the Monticello School District, Murrell Taylor Elementary and St. Luke Baptist Church of the Pulaski County Special School District, Prescott School District, and Ward Central of the Cabot School District.

For more information about the CCLC program, go to www.arkansased.org

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *