ALLPS School of Innovation welcomes Black History Month Kick off celebration with open arms

Compassion Fayetteville is a strong supporter Black History.


By: Pattie Williams & Carlos Chicas

Photos: Fayetteville School District



The Compassion Fayetteville 5th annual 2019 NWA Black History Month was officially launched at a press conference at ALLPS School of Innovation last week. This year expands the February celebration from Fayetteville to include all of Northwest Arkansas.  DeAnna Medlock and ALLPS student Kristian Delgado welcomed community members, ALLPS students, Fayetteville school administrators, and members of Spanish Media Hola Arkansas, Azteca America Arkansas TV, La Semana del Sur, and Psicologia Deportiva.


Fayetteville School Superintendent, Dr. John L Colbert, Fayetteville Mayor Lioneld Jordan, and Washington County Judge Joseph Woods, and Compassion Fayetteville Black History Month Team co-leader D’Andre Jones spoke


This year’s theme is Black Excellence:  Past, Present, and Future.  Dr. Colbert enthusiastically welcomed all attending and noted that he and all are America.  He underlined how crucial it is that each of us contribute and are vital to the fulfillment of our American destiny.

Mayor Lioneld Jordan announced that a Fayetteville Africa American Advisory Council has been established and delivered a proclamation for the month.  He emphasized how critical it is for us to work together as a city within the principles of open door, open mind, and open heart.

Judge Woods traced the history of African Americans and significant black accomplishments and emphasized the need to get an education.


D’Andre Jones noted in closing that history has been made in NWA:

*Dr. John L Colbert:  first African American school superintendent.

*Judge Woods: first African American County judge

*Fayetteville African American Advisory Council


The press conference ended with all joining hands and singing of the Negro National Anthem.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *